Second GPCQ win for Australian Michael Matthews

91819_grand prix winner.jpg
Photo: Cassandra Kerwin

The crowds cheer as Michael Matthews from Australia digs deep, pedals hard and weaves his way to the front, winning by inches the 2019 Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec. Greg Van Avermaet on the left was third and Peter Sagan on the right second.

A light breeze kept Quebec City cool on the mild and sunny morning of Sept. 13. The racecourse, which starts and finishes in front of Place George-V, gave the international cyclists quite a challenge in the 10th Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec.