Congratulations to the Class of 2019 at Dollard-des-Ormeaux High School

6519_DDO USE.jpg
Photo: Shirley Nadeau

The Dollard-des-Ormeaux High School Class of 2019 proudly poses on the front steps of their school flanked (on the left) by Marie-France Auger (French and art teacher) and principal Stéphan Lagacé, and (right) by vice-principal Lucie Gingras and Janis Rock (English, media, and personal and social education teacher).

The Dollard-des-Ormeaux graduation ceremony was particularly poignant this year as Stéphan Lagacé, principal of the school for the past 13 years, congratulated the graduates, some of whom he has known since they were in kindergarten, and bid them a final farewell.

Lagacé has been appointed the new director of educational services at the Central Québec School Board, replacing Gina Farnell, director of complementary services, and Mark Sutherland, director of instructional services, whose positions have been merged.

As proud parents took the first of many photos, the 21 students of the Class of 2019 marched into the auditorium to the traditional “Pomp and Circumstance.”

After a rousing rendition of “O Canada” by the school band, directed by music teacher Joyce McCartney, Lagacé stepped onstage to welcome everyone and stated that this would be his last “rodeo” as DDO’s principal, “so we’re gonna make it a good one!” Looking at the five male and 16 female graduates, he said, “I am so proud of you all,” adding that “Girl Power” was obvious this year.

Salutatorian Camille Duchaine welcomed special guests, many of whom presented prizes later in the ceremony, and thanked the teachers and graduates’ parents for all their support during their years at DDO. She likened their “crazy high school adventure” to an “intricate fabric. Everyone is a different fibre that created a beautiful tapestry… Knit yourself a beautiful life and never forget the good times and fun.”

Graduate Mona Doiron introduced guest speaker Kerry Ann King, a former teacher at DDO for 17 years, who told the students, “This is a defining milestone in your life.” King read words of advice from Be Yourself, by Charles Schultz (the creator of Charlie Brown), including “Be Determined,” “Believe in yourself,” and “Pinpoint the steps you need to take to reach your goal.”

CQSB commissioner Cameron Lavallee and Joel Godin, MP for Portneuf–Jacques Cartier, each congratulated the students and wished them well in their future endeavours.

Then it was time for the Reading of the Prophecies, special words about the students’ time at DDO and their goals for the future, by teachers Marie-France Auger and Janis Rock, as each student came forward to receive a certificate. Eleven of the 21 students also received Gold Cords, signifying their presence on the Honour Roll.

At last came time for the Valedictory Address, by Maïtée Quirion, who said, “I’m here to remind you of how you got here. Perseverance, determination and motivation are written in the paths of all grads here. We have all been equipped with the tools to succeed in life. Never give up and, if you should make mistakes along the way, embrace your failures and learn from them.”

Quirion was the top prize winner of the evening, receiving the Student Advisory Committee Certificate, French Second Language Prize for Highest Overall Average, DDO Governing Board Mathematics Plaque, DDO Governing Board Science Plaque, Municipality of Shannon All-Around Student Meritas, Municipality of Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier (Highest Standings) and the Maurice C. Drew Scholarship.

Other award winners were:

Salutatorian Camille Duchaine: French Second Language Prize for Highest Overall Average, DDO Governing Board Mathematics Plaque and the Municipality of Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier (Highest Standings) award

Mona Doiron: McGill Science Award, the St. Lawrence College Improvement Prize and the French Second Language Prize for Most Consistent Effort

Alexandra Verreault: Champlain Regional College Contemporary World Prize and the Base Commander’s Cup Leadership Award

Camille Garand: King Kiley Memorial Scholarship Award for Perseverance and an Eastern Québec Learning Centre Vocational Training Bursary

Joannie Gonneville: Eastern Québec Learning Centre Vocational Training Bursary and the CQSB Parents’ Committee Award

Shianne Sincennes: McGill Social Sciences Award

Laurie Legault: Quebec Chronicle-Telegraph English Prize

Sandrine Mercier-Houle: Municipality of Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier (Highest Standings) award

Maya Buisson: St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church of Saint-Gabriel-de-Valcartier Humanitarian Plaque

Maève Lauzon: Catholic Women’s League of Shannon Citizenship Prize

Juliette Lamarre: St. Joseph’s Chapel of Shannon Prize

Other graduates of the Class of 2019 were: Jean-Simon Chamberland, Mathieu Duchesne, Charlie Goneau, Aryanne Huard, Destiny Lucy, Andres Mauleon Argote (an exchange student from Mexico), Magie Paquet, Alek Parent and Isaac Pilote.